Painting Seals



I’ve been dying to paint. Something. Anything.

That, and a continuous problem finding the right art with the right budget for my interior styling project. So I thought, hey, wouldn’t things would be so much easier (and cheaper) if I can paint wall art myself. A contemporary painting, even the lousiest one could spend a fortune. While a DIY one only cost me a canvas, some paints, and a considerable amount of precious time. That’s what you do when you have a tight budget. Spend more time. Anyway, moving on…

Recently I’m quite liking Johanna Burai’s work, she’s a graphic designer and illustrator based in Stockholm, Sweden. These are some of her work in acrylic. To see more of her work you can check her website, www.johannaburai.com

 

Thanks Johanna, now I’m all psyched for some colorful, fun, and bold paintings. Off to preparing my painting gear :
DSC_3511I bought a 40 x 40 cm blank canvas for Rp 50.000,- (around 5 USD) , and a primary color set of acrylic painting for Rp 128.000,- ( around 12 USD) .  Eventually, these are the colors I used :
DSC_3512 I decided to mix yellow, blue, and white to make the perfect – sort of viridian – green. Why? Just because. All you gotta do is mix them up real good and make fast and steady strokes throughout the canvas. Make sure you do it real quick, because acrylic paint dries quite fast.DSC_3513DSC_3514Tadaaa! Love it. After getting back and forth between seal, flamingo, and yellow birds, I decided on seals. I have a really cute plush seal so no need to worry about the model here, teehee! Basically what I did was make a seal shaped cut out paper, take a bit of white paint and stroked my brush vertically on it. The rest is trying out different painting techniques I saw on youtube. You can see the process through some pictures below, I hope you can find it cute. Or else you might kill the painter in me.

Cheers!

DSC_3515 DSC_3516 DSC_3517 DSC_3525

Leave a comment